Michel Gondry might be the most interesting artist on the planet today.

I’m truly excited for this post because Michel Gondry to me is the epitome of artistic genius. I learned about him through the Directors Label DVDs that came out a few years back (as I did with Chris Cunningham below) and immediately fell in love with the simplicity and child-like vision exhibited in his works. Most people know him from his feature directorial work such as ‘Dave Chappelle’s Block Party’ and ‘Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind’ which earned him an Oscar nomination, but he was creating exemplary works long before that. Perhaps now we will get to see Michel Gondry in all his glory with his upcoming film ‘The Science of Sleep’. He has been writing it for years and immediately I could tell it was semi-autobiographical from the trailer. The best part of his past interviews is when he explains how much of his childhood is reflected in his work. Among those childhood memories is a recurring nightmare he had of waking up with jumbo inflammed hands which make an appearance in the Foo Fighters video for ‘Everlong’ and again seem to make an appearance in ‘The Science of Sleep’ along with other elements I’ve heard him mention before. I CANNOT wait to see this film. The man really is the one of the most interesting individuals I’ve ever heard speak so get his Director’s Label disc if you can find it. Check out the trailer for ‘The Science of Sleep’ in the meantime. Enjoy!

//Tags//, , , ,

Leave a comment

Filed under movies

Leave a comment