There’s hope for anyone with the right words


I have loathed David Duchovny forever, seriously FOR EVER. From the moment I first heard him speak on the X-Files I hated him. He was always so smug and had the lips of a geriatric vageen (sic!). Then there was Natascha McElhone (I had to look the name up), I loathed her in The Truman Show and was always happy she never made it big. She reminded me of a less attractive Jane Seymour.

Then last night I was given a new TV gift, Californication. I shouldn’t have liked it. It had the cards stacked against it. It all seemed so painfully obvious. Deadbeat dad tries to make right. Washed up writer trying to get back on his feet but his rounded heels double not only for his man-whorish ways but are the result of a corporate machine keeping him downblah blah blah…Fuck it. Great show, great writing. It gets out of its way and doesn’t scream look at me. Oh yeah and to the point, Duchovny is fully in my good graces and I’ll go so far as to say McElhone is hot. Amazing what the right words can do when you’ve given up on people. Big recommend.

Leave a comment

Filed under TV

Leave a comment